Back to Top


25th Biennial JCDA Texas State Convention

By Terrie Vacek, 2015-2017 State Public Relations Chair
Contributions from Immediate Past State Regent Carolyn Malik

The 25th Biennial Junior Catholic Daughters of the Americas (JCDA) State Convention was held June 7-9, 2013 at the Hilton San Antonio Airport, San Antonio, Texas. Approximately 200 members from twenty four JCDA courts across Texas were in attendance as well as 100 sponsors and guests. The Convention theme was;

“I Am the Light of the World”
John 8:12

Court Saint Paul #1604, Shiner, served as host for the convention with Diane Hermann and Carolyn Malik as convention co-chairs.

The delegation was welcomed with a “JCDA’s GOT TALENT” dinner show. The evening concluded with the Divine Mercy Chaplet illuminated by flashlights.

Saturday began with a Morning Worship Service. Diane Hermann stated in her welcome address to delegates and guests, “You are the future of the Catholic Daughters and sitting in front of me are future members, officers and possibly state and national officers.”

In the opening ceremony, Colors were presented by Lydia Martinez, district deputy from Floresville; Second Vice State Regent Rosie Stockwell, Edinburg; and Mary Rose Barta, State Respect Life Chairman, Shiner, followed by the JCDA banner carried by Emily Malinovsky, Court St. Paul #1604, Shiner. The 2013 Convention minutes were read and approved.

Texas State Court Officers

L-R 2013-2015 State Secretary Melodie Brunt, Texarkana; 2013-2015 State Treasurer Becky Brown, Angleton; 2013-2015 State Regent Peggy Rosales, Austin; 2011-2013 State Regent Carolyn Malik, Shiner; 2013-2015 Second Vice State Regent Rosie Stockwell, Edinburg; 2013-2015 First Vice State Regent Eve Trevino, Corpus Christi.

Each court gave a “JCDA members in action” PowerPoint presentation highlighting the activities done over the past two years. Speakers included Immediate Past State Regent, Carolyn Malik, of Shiner and State Regent Peggy Rosales, Austin.

Business for the day included Nominations for State Officers; State Board Reports; and the Bid for Next Convention. The next JCDA Convention will be held in 2015 and will be hosted by a JCDA Court to be announced at a later date as there were several bids for the next convention.

The delegates voted Marissa Pena, Lubbock, for the office of State Reporter 2015-2014; Emily Malinovsky, Shiner, for the office of State Secretary 2015-2014; Kaya Price, Crosby, for the office of Second Vice State President 2015-2014; Olivia Perez, Roma, for the office of First Vice State President 2015-2014; and Clella Evans, Round Rock, for the office of State President 2015-2014. Delegates participated in a Candlelight Living Rosary ending with the Litany of Our Lady by Msgr. John Peters, State Chaplain, and Halletsville.

Keynote speaker for the formal banquet Saturday evening was Doug Barry, founder of RADIX, a Catholic ministry that challenges and encourages families to embrace their Catholic faith. Past JCDA State Officers from across the state were recognized with special recognition given to Terri Beltran, Outgoing State JCDA/Youth Chairman 2007-2013. A workshop/PowerPoint entitled “JCDA Questions & Answers” was presented Saturday night for adults attending the convention while JCDA members attend their caucus.

The OUTSTANDING JUNIOR OF THE YEAR award was presented to Rebecca Proske, Court Annunciation #1962, La Grange.

The St. Elizabeth Ann Seton award (recognizing notable contributions to youth ministry) was presented Marcella Sinkule, Court Sacred Heart #829, West. The St. Anne (award for adults working with JCDA members) medal was awarded to Ginger Kutscherousky, Court Sacred Heart #829, West. Court Newsletter, Membership Retention, Scrapbook, and Banner contest winners were announced. State Regent Peggy Rosales announced Sheila Martinka and Peggy Supak as the 2013-2015 State Youth/JCDA Co-Chairs.

L-R Clella Evans; Olivia Perez, Kaya Price, Emily Malinovsky, Marissa Pena, and JCDA State Chaplain Msgr. John Peters.

Colors were retired as the convention closed. State JCDA Chaplain Msgr. John Peters served as celebrant for the Installation Mass.

L-R Front Row are 2013-2015 JCDA State Officers Clella Evans; Olivia Perez, Kaya Price, Emily Malinovsky, and Marissa Pena.

Standing 2011-2013 JCDA State Officers L-R are JCDA State Chairman Terri Beltran, State President Mary Adamek, Court St. Paul #1604 Shiner; First Vice State President Katelyn Martinez, Court Mary Queen of Peace #2497, Floresville; Second Vice State President Jamie Ornelas, Court Mary St. John #2197 Baytown; State Secretary Holly Soukup, Court Sacred Heart #829, West; State Reporter Allison Whitworth, Court Ancillae Marie #1886, Crosby; State JCDA Chaplain Msgr. John Peters.

2013-2015 JCDA State Board

L-R seated/kneeling are Emily Malinovsky, Clella Evans, and Marissa Pena.

L-R Standing are JCDA State Chaplain Msgr. John Peters, JCDA State Co-Chair Peggy Supak, Olivia Perez, Kaya Price, and JCDA State Co-Chair Sheila Martinka (2009-2011 State Regent).